Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

Sorrel Hays

b. 1941

American composer, pianist, and mixed media artist, Hays studied at the University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, the Munich Hochschule fŸr Musik, the University of Wisconsin, and the University of Iowa with Harold Cadek, Paul Badura-Skoda, Hilde Somer, and Richard Hervig. In addition to premiering the music of other composers, including Henry Cowell's Piano Concerto and works by John Cage, Pauline Oliveros, and Marga Richter, she has worked to increase awareness of women composers in her capacities as conference chairwoman and concert series director. Her compositions merge music with sculpture, film/video, dance, and actors in a variety of notated and improvised forms. Her music has been heard in many venues, including the 1998 Istanbul Yapi Kredi Festival, the 1996 Copenhagen Festival, the New Music America Express to Hartford, the Kassel Dokumenta, and the Whitney Museum's first Audio Art Festival. It was the subject of a film documentary entitled "Southern Voices: A Composer's Exploration," a journey into childhood memories via the melodies and rhythms of Southern dialect. She has taught on the faculties of Queens College in New York City and the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and has held Artist Residencies with Rhode Island College and the Copenhagen Sound Laboratory. Hays has received grants from the Georgia Council for the Arts and the New York Foundation on the Humanities and is a Fellow of the New York Foundation for the Arts. Tunings, was performed in the first concert of women's music at the Library of Congress. For further information visit Sorrel Hays.

Works in Our Catalog:

494-02633 - Tunings for String Quartet