Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

Agathe Backer Grøndahl

1847 - 1907

(Agathe (Ursula) Grøndahl [née Backer] was born in Holmestrand, Norway. She was a noted composer, pianist and teacher. In 1865, she traveled to Berlin, Germany where she studied at Theodor Kullak's Academy until 1867. She also composed her only known orchestral works there, an Andante quasi Allegretto (performed in 1869 and now lost) and a Scherzo which was performed in 1870. Piano studies abroad with Franz Liszt (1871-72) completed her formal musical education. Two sources exist for I Blaafjellet, the autograph and the first edition, published in 1897 by Carl Warmuth.

Works in Our Catalog:

490-01086 - Blaaf Jellet Eventyr Suite

Works in Our Collections: