Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

Margaret Vardell Sandresky

b. 20th Century

Margaret Vardell Sandresky , born in Macon, Georgia, attended schools in Winston-Salem, NC, and graduated from Salem Academy and College. She earned a Master of Music in Composition from the Eastman School of Music where she studied with Bernard Rogers and Howard Hanson. She was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to the State Institute of Music in Frankfurt/Main, Germany. Sandresky has taught at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music, the University of Texas at Austin, the North Carolina School of the Arts, and at Salem College. Her principal research in music theory has explored the interaction of fifteenth century humanism with the music, art, and architecture of that period. She has received commissions funded by the National Endowment for the Arts, the Carolina Arts Council, the Reynolda House, Museum of American Art, and the North Carolina Music Teachers Association. Her Trio No. 2 (1994), commissioned by Reynolda House, Museum of American Art, is Hildegard catalog #02006.

Works in Our Catalog:

494-02622 - Trio No. 2 for Violin, Cello and Piano