Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

Maria Xaviera Peruchona

ca. 1652 - after 1709

Peruchona was reportedly already musically adept before taking the veil in the Collegio of Sant' Orsola. She published her first and only work, Sacri concerti de motetti a una, due, tre, e quattro voci, parte con violini, e parte senza while still an adolescent. Following in the footsteps of Isabella Leonarda, Peruchona established herself as a prominent contributor to the "seventeenth century nun composer" genre. She later abandoned the study and composition of music, possibly due to her poor health, and devoted herself to the affairs of the convent. Nothing apart from her presence there is known about her life after 1709. For further information, see "Women Composers: Music Through the Ages," volume II. HPC #09856, #20C27, #20C36, #20C37.

Works in Our Catalog:

492-00139 - Quid pavemus sorores