Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

Dora Pejacevic

1885 - 1923

Dora Pejacevic was born in Budapest. She started composing in 1897, writing numerous pieces for piano. In 1907 she went to Dresden where she studied counterpoint and composition. Beginning in 1903 her works were frequently performed in Croatia and throughout Europe. Her piano work Impromptu, op. 32b was written in 1912. Two movements from Pajacevic's Symphony in F# major were performed in Vienna in 1918. Her sets of piano pieces include Mastanja, op. 17; Six Fantasy Pieces, Blumenleben, op. 19; and the nine waltzes of op. 28. Pejacevic also wrote sonatas, intermezzi, nocturnes, and capriccios. Her chamber music includes compositions for violin and piano, a sonata for cello and piano, trios, quartets, and a quintet. Pejacevic helped to build the foundations of modern Croatian chamber and concert music.

Works in Our Catalog:

490-01104 - Two Pieces