Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

"490-01112": 1 items found

Preludes and Fugues, Op. 16

Editor: Sylvia Glickman

Item: 490-01112

for piano

Composed in 1847, these 3 preludes and fugues are the skillful result of Clara Schumann's study of counterpoint. The first Prelude maintains a poignancy similar to the first movement of her Piano Trio. The following Fugue is a well-crafted, vigorous piece of music. Prelude #2, is a self-contained, graceful allegretto, while fulfilling its role of preparing the ear for the key of the ensuing fugue, a serious rhythmic work. The themes of the prelude and fugue of the third set are rhythmically related, both earnest andantes.